You’re driving along in Las Vegas, Nevada, either on your cell phone talking or texting while driving and the next thing you know you’re being pulled over by Las Vegas Metro Police or a Nevada Highway Patrol.
As of January 1, 2012, officers will issue citations and fines for using a mobile device while driving. The Nevada law actually covers using a handheld electronic device for any purpose, making phones calls, texting, reading emails, and searching the internet.
Fines for Driving While Using a Mobile Device
A person who violates any provision of subsection 1 is guilty of a misdemeanor and:
- (a) For the first offense within the immediately preceding 7 years, shall pay a fine of $50.
- (b) For the second offense within the immediately preceding 7 years, shall pay a fine of $100.
- (c) For the third or subsequent offense within the immediately preceding 7 years, shall pay a fine of $250.
The Department of Motor Vehicles shall not treat a first violation of this section in the manner statutorily required for a moving traffic violation.
The first offense is a $50 fine and is not a moving violation. The penalties increase for every offense in a 7 year period. So if you ignore the law and continue driving while using your device, you could quickly reach the $250 fine.
Here at the Law Offices of Daniel R. Page, Esq., Ltd., located at 3450 East Russell Road Suite 213 Las Vegas Nevada 89120, our primary goal is to make sure that you are treated with the respect you deserve, and that all of your legal rights are upheld. Despite the fact that in most areas of the law a person is innocent until proven guilty, this often isn’t the case with traffic ticket, especially when someone tries to fight it on their own.
If you’ve been cited for using your cell phone while driving in Las Vegas, call Las Vegas Traffic Ticket Attorney Daniel R. Page today at 702 685 3535.